Belmont's Curse Weapons & Relics: 7 Categories, Review Differences & Preview Perks

Equipment Last reviewed: Oct 14, 2026

Quick answer

KONAMI confirms that Castlevania: Belmont's Curse features weapons spanning seven distinct categories,[1] but official materials do not list all seven category names. Early reviews on Nintendo Switch and PC confirm seven types but use slightly different category terms (such as Spears vs. lance, or Fists vs. cestus).[2][3]

In addition, Rose can equip up to three Relics for combat and exploration.[4] We break down the confirmed categories, review terms, preview weapon perks, and upgrade clues below.

Seven categories, with different names in reviews

KONAMI confirms seven weapon categories, but its supplied system description does not name all seven.[1]

In his Nintendo Switch review, Chris "Atom" DeAngelus lists Fists, Greatswords, Spears, Swords, Sword and Shield, Twin Blades, and Whips. These are the terms used in that review.[2]

Rob Yatco's PC review instead lists sword, sword and shield, lance, cestus, greatsword, twin blades, and whip. Both reviews describe seven types. The supplied evidence does not establish the official menu wording or confirm that lance and Spears, or cestus and Fists, are interchangeable labels. The wording differences do not establish additional categories.[1][2][3]

Weapon behavior described in the July preview

In Corey Brotherson's July 17 PlayStation Blog hands-on, the balanced longsword dealt extra damage when an attack immediately followed a backdash. The article does not specify the damage increase or timing window.[4]

The same preview describes cestus gauntlets as having shorter reach and faster combos, with damage increasing as the writer landed more hits. It does not give a multiplier, cap, or reset rule. These observations concern the July preview build; they do not establish the equipment available in the October public demo or verify unchanged behavior in the retail release.[4]

Relics: preview effects and edition contents

Corey Brotherson's July preview says Rose could equip up to three Relics. It describes Crypt Key as fully restoring health and mana when she opened a chest, but supplies no acquisition location. This is a preview observation, not a confirmed public-demo item route.[4]

KONAMI lists Family's Grace as a Relic included with Midnight Edition. Its supplied product description does not state the effect or explain where to claim it in-game, so the edition listing alone cannot answer either question.[5]

Valmanway: a review-reported upgrade

Chris "Atom" DeAngelus's Switch review reports that the weapon he calls the standard blade becomes Valmanway at its maximum level, and describes its fast attacks. This supplies an upgrade clue, but not an official item record or a complete acquisition route: the supplied passage gives no location, material list, or upgrade cost.[2]

Sources & References

  1. Castlevania: Belmont's Curse Official Website (KONAMI, US): Home and Game System ↩ 1, 2, 3
  2. WorthPlaying: Nintendo Switch Review - 'Castlevania: Belmont's Curse' by Chris "Atom" DeAngelus (Oct 13, 2026) ↩ 1, 2, 3, 4
  3. UnGeek: "Castlevania: Belmont's Curse Review" by Rob Yatco (Oct 13, 2026) ↩ 1, 2
  4. PlayStation Blog: "Castlevania: Belmont's Curse hands-on report" by Corey Brotherson (Jul 17, 2026) ↩ 1, 2, 3, 4
  5. Castlevania: Belmont's Curse Official Website (KONAMI, US): Product Editions ↩
← Back to Guides Read our Independent Verification Policy →